Chick Pea Curry

Tonight I am making Chick Pea curry for dinner.  I’ve modified a recipe from the book Thai Vegetarian Cooking and it’s very yummy!  I always use extra soy milk so it’s nice and saucy.  I like a lot of sauce on my rice, so this works for me!  The original recipe used coconut milk, but it’s very high in fat, and we are trying to cut back around here.

As is usual with my recipes, amounts are always suggested.

Heat a little bit of oil (or cooking spray), and add:
1-2 tsp chopped garlic (or 1-2 cloves, minced)
1-2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp ground black pepper (freshly ground is best, of course)

Saute briefly.   Add:

1.5 cups soy milk (more if you like your curry to have lots of liquid)

Stir well.

Add:

1 Tbsp curry powder (or more if you like a stronger flavour)
2-3 potatoes cut into small cubes
1 large or 2 small cans of chick peas
2 small tomatoes, chopped
1-2 tsp basil
2 Tbsp soya sauce
1 tsp sugar

Let the liquid boil, then simmer until the potatoes and chick peas are cooked.  (Less then 1 hour)

Serve over basmati rice.

2 responses to “Chick Pea Curry

  1. Pingback: An urban girl tackles motherhood » Sickness will not beat me…

  2. I think I might actually attempt this one. Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

